It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

dsc_4575

STAR RATING: 3/5

DATE OF PUBLICATION: April 3rd, 2007 (first published in 2006)

PUBLISHER: Miramax

 NUMBER OF PAGES: 444 pages

SYNOPSIS:

Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life – which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.

Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.

Ned Vizzini, who himself spent time in a psychiatric hospital, has created a remarkably moving tale about the sometimes unexpected road to happiness.

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ADDRESSED:

WHAT I LIKED/DISLIKED ABOUT THE BOOK: 

CHARACTERS, PLOT & SETTING: 

PORTRAYAL OF MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT: 

 AUTHOR’S PERSONAL EXPERIENCES: 

RECOVERY FOCUSED?

OFFERS HUMOUR/HOPE?

RESOURCES:

Every Last Word by Tamara Iceland Stone

dsc_4543

STAR RATING: 4/5

DATE OF PUBLICATION: June 16th, 2015

PUBLISHER: Disney Hyperion

 NUMBER OF PAGES: 368 pages

SYNOPSIS:

If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off.

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ADDRESSED:

WHAT I LIKED/DISLIKED ABOUT THE BOOK: 

CHARACTERS, PLOT & SETTING: 

PORTRAYAL OF MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT: 

 AUTHOR’S PERSONAL EXPERIENCES: 

RECOVERY FOCUSED?

OFFERS HUMOUR/HOPE?

RESOURCES:

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

STAR RATING: 5/5

DATE OF PUBLICATION: June 9th, 2015

PUBLISHER: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

 NUMBER OF PAGES: 286 pages

SYNOPSIS: 

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ADDRESSED:

WHAT I LIKED/DISLIKED ABOUT THE BOOK: 

CHARACTERS, PLOT & SETTING: 

PORTRAYAL OF MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT: 

 AUTHOR’S PERSONAL EXPERIENCES: 

RECOVERY FOCUSED?

OFFERS HUMOUR/HOPE?

RESOURCES:

If You’re Lucky by Yvonne Prinz

STAR RATING: 2/5

DATE OF PUBLICATION: October 20th, 2015

PUBLISHER: Algonquin Young Readers

 NUMBER OF PAGES: 288 pages

SYNOPSIS:

Is Georgia’s mind playing tricks on her, or is the entire town walking into the arms of a killer who has everyone but her fooled?

When seventeen-year-old Georgia’s brother drowns while surfing halfway around the world in Australia, she refuses to believe Lucky’s death was just bad luck. Lucky was smart. He wouldn’t have surfed in waters more dangerous than he could handle. Then a stranger named Fin arrives in False Bay, claiming to have been Lucky’s best friend. Soon Fin is working for Lucky’s father, charming Lucky’s mother, dating his girlfriend. Georgia begins to wonder: did Fin murder Lucky in order to take over his whole life?

Determined to clear the fog from her mind in order to uncover the truth about Lucky’s death, Georgia secretly stops taking the medication that keeps away the voices in her head. Georgia is certain she’s getting closer and closer to the truth about Fin, but as she does, her mental state becomes more and more precarious, and no one seems to trust what she’s saying.

As the chilling narrative unfolds, the reader must decide whether Georgia’s descent into madness is causing her to see things that don’t exist–or to see a deadly truth that no one else can.

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ADDRESSED:

WHAT I LIKED/DISLIKED ABOUT THE BOOK: 

CHARACTERS, PLOT & SETTING: 

PORTRAYAL OF MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT: 

 AUTHOR’S PERSONAL EXPERIENCES: 

RECOVERY FOCUSED?

OFFERS HUMOUR/HOPE?

RESOURCES:

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

STAR RATING: 4/5dsc_4546

DATE OF PUBLICATION: January 6th, 2015

PUBLISHER: Knopf

 NUMBER OF PAGES: 378 pages

SYNOPSIS:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ADDRESSED:

WHAT I LIKED/DISLIKED ABOUT THE BOOK: 

CHARACTERS, PLOT & SETTING: 

PORTRAYAL OF MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT: 

 AUTHOR’S PERSONAL EXPERIENCES: 

RECOVERY FOCUSED?

OFFERS HUMOUR/HOPE?

RESOURCES:

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

dsc_4561STAR RATING: 3/5

DATE OF PUBLICATION: June 3rd, 2014 (first published March 27th 2014)

PUBLISHER: HarperTeen

 NUMBER OF PAGES: 218 pages

SYNOPSIS: 

John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern’s insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ADDRESSED:

WHAT I LIKED/DISLIKED ABOUT THE BOOK: 

CHARACTERS, PLOT & SETTING: 

PORTRAYAL OF MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT: 

 AUTHOR’S PERSONAL EXPERIENCES: 

RECOVERY FOCUSED?

OFFERS HUMOUR/HOPE?

RESOURCES:

Perfect by Natasha Friend

STAR RATING: 3/5

DATE OF PUBLICATION: September 16th, 2004

PUBLISHER: Milkweed Editions

NUMBER OF PAGES: 172 pages

SYNOPSIS:

Depicting with humor and insight the pressure to be outwardly perfect, this novel for ages 10-13 shows how one girl develops compassion for her own and others’ imperfections.

For 13-year-old Isabelle Lee, whose father has recently died, everything’s normal on the outside. Isabelle describes the scene at school with bemused accuracy–the self-important (but really not bad) English teacher, the boy that is constantly fixated on Ashley Barnum, the prettiest girl in class, and the dynamics of the lunchroom, where tables are turf in a all-eyes-open awareness of everybody’s relative social position.

But everything is not normal, really. Since the dealth of her father, Isabelle’s family has only functioned on the surface. Her mother, who used to take care of herself, now wears only lumpy, ill-fitting clothes, cries all night, and has taken every picture of her dead husband and put them under her bed. Isabelle tries to make light of this, but the underlying tension is expressed in overeating and then binging. As the novel opens, Isabelle’s little sister, April, has told their mother about Isabelle’s problem. Isabelle is enrolled in group therapy. Who should show up there, too, but Ashley Barnum, the prettiest, most together girl in class.

MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ADDRESSED:

WHAT I LIKED/DISLIKED ABOUT THE BOOK: 

CHARACTERS, PLOT & SETTING: 

PORTRAYAL OF MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT: 

 AUTHOR’S PERSONAL EXPERIENCES: 

RECOVERY FOCUSED?

OFFERS HUMOUR/HOPE?

RESOURCES: